Grand Forks Fire 

Fire Extinguishers

  • What Kind of extinguisher should I use?
  • The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) classifies fires into five general categories (U.S.):

    • Class A fires are ordinary materials like burning paper, lumber, cardboard, plastics etc.

    • Class B fires involve flammable or combustible liquids such as gasoline, kerosene, and common organic solvents used in the laboratory.

    • Class C fires involve energized electrical equipment, such as appliances, switches, panel boxes, power tools, hot plates and stirrers. Water can be a dangerous extinguishing medium for class C fires because of the risk of electrical shock unless a specialized water mist extinguisher is used.

    • Class D fires involve combustible metals, such as magnesium, titanium, potassium and sodium as well as pyrophoric organ metallic reagents such as alkyllithiums, Grignards and diethyl zinc. These materials burn at high temperatures and will react violently with water, air, and/or other chemicals. Handle with care!!

    • Class K fires are kitchen fires. This class was added to the NFPA portable extinguishers Standard 10 in 1998. Kitchen extinguishers installed before June 30, 1998 are "grandfathered" into the standard.

    Grand Forks Fire Equipment sells and services all makes and models of Fire Extinguishers for the safety of your home and business.  Aren't you glad there is someone in your corner.

Grand Forks Fire

921 North 3rd Street
Grand Forks, North Dakota

office (701)746.6463
fax (701)746.6464
toll-free (800)743.6463 

Email us